Teensy 4.0 not seen by Teensy Loader when on my carrier board

Status
Not open for further replies.

OCPatch

Okay, Teensy noob here - apologies (+ sheepish shrug + sigh of relief) in advance if I'm missing something simple.

Equipment: Windows 10 desktop PC; Teensy Loader 1.52; Arduino/Teensyduino IDE, Teensy 4.0 with my pins in either 1) sockets on a solderless breadboard or 2) sockets on my carrier board. Teensy USB connection IS to a USB hub because I'm squeamish about frying USB's in my desktop PC.

FWIW, I'm trying to build a maximum power point tracking charge controller for solar cells and a lithium ion battery. So I got my proto circuit board back from fab, stuffed it with components, and did some preliminary testing before socketing the Teensy 4.0. The power on my proto circuit board currently (batteries later) first comes from a loosely regulated wall wart transformer, then to a 1.5A, 5VDC linear regulator, then to a ~750mA, 3.3 VDC linear regulator. The extra 3V3 regulator is if I want to add power-hungry devices to my I2C bus later. (Refer to the schematic for power details)

Note that my early testing has been done without solar power input, presence of a battery, or presence of any load. I'm just trying to wake this board up.

The schematic shows the voltages that I read from various parts of the circuit. My problem is that when I have cut the jumper between VIN and VUSB and mount the board in the sockets on my carrier board, Teensy Loader does not recognize the attached (through the on-board USB connector) Teensy 4.0.

I've gone so far as to only power the Teensy board itself with my "5 VDC" (4.67 VDC) source to the VIN pin (no other pins connected to anything) and plug the USB cable in and yet my PC and Teensy Loader still do not recognize the board.