Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: teensy does nor appear on Tools/Board list

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    3

    teensy does nor appear on Tools/Board list

    Hi, I am a 1st time user.
    Windows 10
    Teensy 3.2
    Arduino 1.8.16


    Teensy connected and working on USB - loads and runs fast blink program
    teensyDuino installer run successfully
    Arduino 1.8.16\Tools\Board:
    list does not include teensy

    What am I doing wrong?

    Any help received with gratitude :-)

  2. #2
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25,226
    Quote Originally Posted by teensyUsr View Post
    What am I doing wrong?
    Maybe you have more than 1 copy of Arduino on your PC, and when you ran the Teensyduino installer it wrote all the Teensy files into the other copy of Arduino?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    3
    sounds plausible.
    removed copies of Arduino
    uninstalled Arduino
    re-installed Arduino (not store version)
    ran teensyDuinoInstall
    Still no tweeny on Tools/board list
    ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    9,754
    Again make sure where it said Teensyduino was installed is the same place that your launching of Arduino is from.

    I normally have several versions of Arduino installed, so I always have to make sure the link I startup is for the one I am working from now... I usually have two versions with icons in the tray...

  5. #5
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25,226
    Multiple copies of Arduino is still the only plausible explanation.

    The only other not-very-likely explanation I can imagine is overly aggressive anti-virus software is silently interfering with the Teensyduino installer. We have seen that many times, but it almost always manifests as only some files (typically executables or Java code) not installed.

    By default the Teensyduino installer should have put everything into C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino, unless you selected some other location. Maybe use Windows Explorer to explicitly navigate to C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino and then launch Arduino by double clicking on it from that specific location.

    In addition to seeing Teensyduino in the Tools > Boards menu, you can try clicking Help > About in Arduino. If Teensyduino is installed, you should see both the Arduino and Teensyduino versions on the top edge of the About info.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3,339
    @teensyUsr
    when installing Teensyduino and if not using the windows explorer to locate destination Arduino, it will always locate the first one found and install in top of it.
    If you use a desktop shortcut to start Arduino, you should make sure that it points to the desired Arduino/Teensy installation. There is no automatic update.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    3

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    Multiple copies of Arduino is still the only plausible explanation.

    The only other not-very-likely explanation I can imagine is overly aggressive anti-virus software is silently interfering with the Teensyduino installer. We have seen that many times, but it almost always manifests as only some files (typically executables or Java code) not installed.

    By default the Teensyduino installer should have put everything into C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino, unless you selected some other location. Maybe use Windows Explorer to explicitly navigate to C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino and then launch Arduino by double clicking on it from that specific location.

    In addition to seeing Teensyduino in the Tools > Boards menu, you can try clicking Help > About in Arduino. If Teensyduino is installed, you should see both the Arduino and Teensyduino versions on the top edge of the About info.
    I explicitly navigated to C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino and then launched Arduino by double clicking on it from that specific location and everything works. Excellent!

    I think I have also killed off the other versions as well.

    Thanks for the help.
    D.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •