Could I use a Teensy 3.1 like a 3.2 for this project?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveGadgeteer

I'm starting a simple project (wait for a contact closure, then play a short audio file to an I2S amplifier to a small speaker).
I have an unused Teensy 3.1 around, which I know is discontinued.
Does anyone know whether it would be usable for this? It seems a pity to just discard it, when it might be fine for such a simple project, but I've no experience to draw on for the decision. What were the flaws of the 3.1?

I'm starting a simple project (wait for a contact closure, then play a short audio file to an I2S amplifier to a small speaker).
I have an unused Teensy 3.1 around, which I know is discontinued.
Does anyone know whether it would be usable for this? It seems a pity to just discard it, when it might be fine for such a simple project, but I've no experience to draw on for the decision. What were the flaws of the 3.1?

Do not discard the T_3.1 :)

The only significant change to the T_3.2 was more supply current through the converter to 3.3V

They both share the same processor, feature set and pinout.

The bootloader chip also changed from 3.1 to 3.2. They are functionally the same. The old chip was physically larger (reducing the size made room for the large voltage regulator) and the old chip become obsolete, so we had to switch to a newer chip.

Can Audio Shield D be connected to work with 3.1?

The bootloader chip also changed from 3.1 to 3.2. They are functionally the same. The old chip was physically larger (reducing the size made room for the large voltage regulator) and the old chip become obsolete, so we had to switch to a newer chip.

I have an Audio Shield Rev D for Teensy 4.0.