Another Teensy 4.0 and MPU9250 thread

jcun4128

Alright hopefully this is short, my background is web developer type, trying to get into hardware so far just using Arduino/Raspberry Pi. Know some C++ but it's not a daily driver.

I have started a blank repo, I cloned an MPU9250 repo along with this Eigen thing it needs.

I'm trying to run one of their examples externally of those folders. For the moment I'm using full paths instead of relative.

I can program my Teensy 4.0 fine eg. put the cliche servo sweep on there. I'm just stuck with messages like this:
Code:
undefined reference to bfs::Mpu9250::Begin()

I don't know if I'm missing something obvious like an IDE setup to link stuff or what. When I trace the example code the bfs::Mpu9250 object exists... I don't understand what this imu call is on this line:

Code:
bfs::Mpu9250 imu(&Wire, 0x68);

Is that an arbitrary name or is it in code somewhere, I don't think I see that anywhere as a defined thing doing ctlr + f so I'm thinking it's just a random nice name.

If it is a board/wiring issue. I'm powering the Teensy by the USB, separate power supply 5V for the MPU9250, using pins 17/16 for SDA/SCL. I don't know if it even matters this far yet but I did try a pull up resistor thing 5K with 5V parallel to the SDA/SCL as mentioned in another post on here.

Repo is here, it's not modified from the original example/cloned repos other than the full path imports.

I would appreciate any thoughts sorry I'm a complete noob.

Edit:

There is one other thing I would like advice on is the structure of your folders. I imagine I will be importing/using more libraries than this one.

So if I have a structure like:

Code:
- actual code
  - import filea.h, fileb.h
- libraries
  - thing a
    - filea.h
  - thing b
    - filea.h

Is that going to work?

I'm going to try and install the libraries into Arduino itself as the README says (look at that) and that will probably fix this.