Teensy 4.1 SDR capability

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulh001

Hello,

I am new to the Teensy 4.1 environment mostly use raspberry pi for my projects, but hit a roadblock so to say with the pi.
My goal is to connect a AD9866 to the pi / or teensy 4.1 it is a 12 bit ADC / DAC with a sample rate from 5 Msp to 60 Msp.
I would like to use the teensy as a decimator / mixer and output a 1 Msp rate to a downstream computer like a pi.
Normaly this is done with a FPGA, but it would be great if a MCU can do this because make it more flexible for software development.
(I am not a FPGA engineer).
Is there any example for high speed gpio with DMA? Is there any measurement done with this?

Thanks
Paul

At 60MSPS a T4 has 10 clock cycles per sample, so no, I don't think that can fly even if you can pump the data into the processor
via DMA (the IO clock is much slower than the processor clock, note). Down conversion would require quadrature LO and mixing to
avoid aliasing, and 10 clock cycles (even allowing for overclocking and dual instruction issue) is not going to be enough.

But 5MSPS is probably workable, and then you can try and push upwards to see what performance can be achieved.

I'd also worry about 12 high speed logic signals between the AD9866 and T4 creating RFI! Many high speed RF frontend chips
like this use LVDS pairs to communicate direct into an FPGA minimising the RF hash created on the PCB by the signalling itself, as this can
be a limiting factor for S/N in mixed signal RF chips. LVDS signalling is so much better (much less power needed, less direct RFI and less noise
onto the digital rails too, and longer range being impedance-matched). Its pretty standard for FPGAs to support some LVDS pairs, and
its a natural fit for this task.

So anyway, good screening and layout is going to be needed :)

Hi Mark,