Multiple Virtual Serial Ports

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmartiniii

I am new to the Teensy boards and I am intrigued by the power one can obtain from such a little device.
I am interested in developing a simple USB resident device with two serial driven devices, a codec, and some digital I/O. I have attached a block diagram.
My question is in regard to the two virtual serial ports. I see some discussion on the Teensy pages about the virtual port created for use with the IDE serial monitor but nothing beyond that.
My questions are: Is there library support for multiple VSPs beyond and concurrent with the one created for the serial monitor? If there is support for that, is it safe to assume that it uses the serial ports already built in to chip?

Regards,
Charlie

Block_Diagram.png

I am new to the Teensy boards and I am intrigued by the power one can obtain from such a little device.
I am interested in developing a simple USB resident device with two serial driven devices, a codec, and some digital I/O. I have attached a block diagram.
My question is in regard to the two virtual serial ports. I see some discussion on the Teensy pages about the virtual port created for use with the IDE serial monitor but nothing beyond that.
My questions are: Is there library support for multiple VSPs beyond and concurrent with the one created for the serial monitor? If there is support for that, is it safe to assume that it uses the serial ports already built in to chip?

Regards,
Charlie

View attachment 27307

The Teensy has several real serial ports (hardware), in addition the virtual one which is for USB.
What kind of codec do you mean? For Audio?

If you mean "virtual by USB"
then there is Dual and Triple variants
but by default those don't support "USB audio" and/or "USB MIDI"
there is people here (including myself) on the forum that have done
combined variants like "USB Dual Serial, Audio, MIDI"