RAM over SPI?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fnord

Teensy seems like the perfect board for my project except for one thing: Not enough RAM to keep samples for fast access. The reference device I'm looking at has 64MB DDR266 dedicated for samples. I know there's no easy way to add more then 16MB of RAM but in another post here a developer was saying something along the lines of: There's always the possibility of adding "slow RAM" over SPI. What exactly does that mean and how slow is slow? I'm a beginner with teensy and I couldn't find more information about this yet.

What RAM can I use over SPI and can I add 64MB while still running a display (which I guess will also need SPI)? The more the better really. It's the one big problem with teensy so far. Thanks for your help.

Teensy seems like the perfect board for my project except for one thing: Not enough RAM to keep samples for fast access. The reference device I'm looking at has 64MB DDR266 dedicated for samples. I know there's no easy way to add more then 16MB of RAM but in another post here a developer was saying something along the lines of: There's always the possibility of adding "slow RAM" over SPI. What exactly does that mean and how slow is slow? I'm a beginner with teensy and I couldn't find more information about this yet.

What RAM can I use over SPI and can I add 64MB while still running a display (which I guess will also need SPI)? The more the better really. It's the one big problem with teensy so far. Thanks for your help.