Soft/Hard clipping live guitar input with waveshaper

Taemin

First of all, this is my first time using waveshaper. So basically I am trying to make a digital distortion/overdrive pedal using teensy4.0 and audio shield. I've read the description of waveshaper multiple times, did a ton of research, tried messing around with the example codes, posted a few questions, but I just can't understand how it works and how I should use it. Can someone explain some basics to me? Also an example code for a working clipping effect would be helpful.

You pass a transfer function to the class as an array of floats, it applies that function to every sample with interpolation.
The length of the array needs to be one more than a power of two, so 3, 5, 9, 17, 33, etc.

For instance passing the array {-1.0, 0.0, +1.0} would be the identity transform since the first and last points are
the mapping of -1.0 and +1.0 samples (samples are conceptually in the range +/-1.0 in the audio lib.)

Another example: passing {0.0, 0.0, 1.0} would give a rectification mapping as negative samples all map to 0.0

....which I think means you have to provide a 'graph' for a plausible transfer function that (soft) clips.

The array you need will have a plateau at or near -1 at the start and at or near 1 near the end with a steeper than 45 linear segment and possibly some softening around the knees between the linear segments.

Minimally five points might work (i.e. {-1.0,-1.0,0,1.0,1.0} ) but it's likely you'll need something smoother and perhaps not so flat in the plateau regions.

Don't expect a 'tube' sound from something very simple.

It's the interpolation that will start to get expensive if you have a ton of points defining your transfer function.

I've been meaning to try this out for literally years but I've never even started. Good luck and hope to see your results.

It's the interpolation that will start to get expensive if you have a ton of points defining your transfer function.