Teensy 4.1 Reset Button Necessary for Build?

kevin123

Hi, I'm new to Teensy. I've got the 4.1 and am looking to use this chip inside a container that needs to be permanently "potted" with epoxy. This will no longer allow access to the physical reset button. However I do plan to expose the USB connection wire in order to do firmware updates.

Question:

Is this going to be a problem? I've noticed that firmware updates mostly work with the Teensy software / Arduino IDE with no need to press the physical reset button. However it seems occasionally it might be necessary.

Should I go out of my way to install a wired extension in order to expose the reset button outside of the potting compound? Is there any reliable way to avoid this complexity?

That button is for 'PROGRAM', not Reset.

T_4.x's provide a pin hole to duplicate the 'Program' the Button provides.

Without the Program Button, or similar connection, bad code would render the Board unusable.

Would make sense to bring out the Program function wire to allow grounding when required to make the Bootloader active for programming as needed.

Without the program button, you'll have to depend on always loading good code which listens for the USB request to go into programming mode. If you ever load a bad program which ignores USB communication for any reason, the hardware will become forever bricked, or at least forever limited to running that particular program.