Just Getting Started with Teensy, looking for background docs

RonGee

Hi,

I am new to Teensy, and I'd like to get a better understanding of the hardware. Is there any documentation the describes all of the pins on a Teensy 4.1 and what they are used for? Or, are there multiple sources from which something like that could be put together? I have the diagram, of course, but beyond a few of the fairly obvious pin IDs, I'm unclear about what the rest are. I'm happy to do the legwork, but unsure about where to start. I've been able to, for example, attach a magnetometer to the Teensy, provide power to it, and read from it using the SDA and SCL pins using a small program to do so, but beyond those few, it's kind of a mystery.

Thanks for any guidance that you can provide.

Ron

The pinout reference card that comes with Teensy 4.1 tries to give a quick overview of the pins & their capabilities. If you don't have the physical printed card yet, you can see it here:

https://www.pjrc.com/store/teensy41.html#pins

The card has limited space. Kurt made this more detailed version should all the less-used options on every pin.

https://forum.pjrc.com/threads/6614...-use-third-SPI?p=268934&viewfull=1#post268934

Of course that doesn't describe what those pins really do, in terms of features, only just a short label for each function, because also limited space!

The Teensy 4.1 product has many sections with many lists which try to give a quick summary of the many features and hardware capabilities and a little info about some of the software involved. Those descriptions have many links to places where you can find more detailed info, since even just a quick summary of each feature adds up to a huge page for a board like Teensy 4.1 loaded with so many features.