Forum Rule: Always post complete source code & details to reproduce any issue!
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 51 to 72 of 72

Thread: Teensyduino 1.57 Released

  1. #51
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Posts
    2
    Thank you.

    I can find no link to that page when starting from

    https://www.pjrc.com/store/teensy41.html

    which links to:

    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_download.html

    which also has no link to that page.

  2. #52
    Senior Member+ defragster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    16,863
    Quote Originally Posted by FolsomMike View Post
    Thank you.

    I can find no link to that page when starting from

    https://www.pjrc.com/store/teensy41.html

    which links to:

    https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_download.html

    which also has no link to that page.
    Not finding any mention of IDE 2.0 on PJRC.com either - except HOME shows the BLOG post info: www.pjrc.com/

    Wow this is OLD - "How Does Teensy 2.0 Compare With Arduino?" - it is Left pane 'Main":
    pjrc.com/teensy/teensyduino.html

    This page is great for IDE 1.8.x and Teensy Duino 1.57: Left Edge pane 'Download+Install'"
    pjrc.com/teensy/td_download.html

    The Board info pages show this - link only to TeensyDuino Installer:
    Code:
    Software
    Arduino IDE + Teensyduino
    Arduino's IDE software with the Teensyduino add-on is the primary programming environment for Teensy. On Windows, Linux and old Macs, Arduino is installed first and then the Teensyduino installer adds Teensy support to the Arduino IDE.

  3. #53
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    27,653
    Quote Originally Posted by Expensive Notes View Post
    I get the same error with the released MacOS Ventura. i.e. [I]"Unable find Teensy Loader. (p) Is the Teensy Loader application running?"
    Just to confirm, I was able to reproduce this problem on MacOS Ventura.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sc.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	41.2 KB 
ID:	29810

  4. #54
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    85
    While it is nice for it to automatically load, it only takes an extra click to manually start the Teensy Loader.

  5. #55
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    27,653
    I've spent several hours on the MacOS Ventura issue, and I'm sad to say I'm completely stuck.

    Inside teensy_post_compile, when Teensy Loader needs to run, it uses /usr/bin/open with the full path to Teensy Loader inside Teensyduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools folder. The full path is a long path with sandbox prefix. I don't understand why it wouldn't run the application in the same sandbox.

    But I did find this article about recently published sandbox escape using /usr/bin/open.

    https://perception-point.io/blog/res...ve-2021-30864/

    According to the article, Monterey 12.0.1 supposedly fixed this problem. But perhaps with Ventura 13.0.0 Apple decided to just not allow /usr/bin/open to work at all from within a sandbox?

    Not sure how to make this work. But teensy_post_compile is able to open Teensy Loader when run by Arduino 2.0.2, so there must be some way. This stuff is really stretching my MacOS knowledge. If anyone knows more about how this is supposed to work on MacOS, please comment. For one, I'm really stumped on this issue....

  6. #56
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    27,653
    Or maybe it can work on Ventura?! Just as I was giving up, seems I stumbled on the problem with /usr/bin/open somehow depending on stdin (without any input).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ventura.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	63.0 KB 
ID:	29813

    Here is a copy of teensy_post_compile. If anyone using MacOS Ventura is still watching, control-click Teensyduino and "Show Package Contents". Then navigate to Contents/Java/hardware/tools. Replace the teensy_post_compile utility in that folder with this copy.

    Does it work on your machine? (also keep in mind this breaks the app's digital signature, so eventually MacOS may notice and tell you the app is damaged or might harm your computer) Main question is whether this works on other MacOS Ventura machines? I have only 1 Mac new enough to run Ventura.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    260
    @PaulStoffregen
    #56 worked for me (so far on MacBookAir M2, Ventura 13.0.1 (22A400) on T3.2

    Wow this fixed a seemingly unrelated problem with a simple loop printing I was having. I'll post in a minute.
    Last edited by bicycleguy; 11-27-2022 at 04:13 PM. Reason: added T3.2

  8. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    260
    The simple program below before the zip (or with 2.0.2)would not delay for 9 seconds when no monitor and skips random lines
    Output b4
    Code:
    2
    4
    7
    9
    10
    Code:
    #define MYVERSION_STUFF "blink&blank, 2022/11/27   "
    
    int led = 13;
    int gcount=0;
    
    void setup() {
      pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
      Serial.begin(9600);
      while(!Serial && millis()<9000)
        ;
      Serial.println(MYVERSION_STUFF);
    }
    
    void loop() {
      digitalWrite(led, HIGH);   
      gcount+=1;
      Serial.println(gcount);
      delay(500);               
      digitalWrite(led, LOW);   
      delay(500);               
    }
    Output:
    Code:
    2
    3
    4
    5
    ..
    Now it delays, but still skips the MYVERSION_STUFF and the 1, when I press the button on the teensy to reload and run.

    Arduino 2.0.2 occasionally gets it correct when rerun.
    Code:
    blink&blank, 2022/11/27   
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    Last edited by bicycleguy; 11-27-2022 at 03:59 PM.

  9. #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    260
    I put back the old 'teensy_post_compile' and can't reproduce the issue I was having in message #58 above. So best to ignore all in #58.

    The Teensy Loader not loading in 1.8.19 issue did return so it seems to address that.

  10. #60
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    85
    Works for me. Looks like you found the solution.
    Ventura 13.01 Mac mini m1

  11. #61
    Senior Member PaulStoffregen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    27,653
    Thanks for testing. MacOS can be a challenge sometimes, really helps to get test results like this.

    @bicycleguy - if the missing input lines problem returns, please open Terminal and type "ps aux | grep teensy". Is more than 1 instance of teensy_serialmon or teensy-monitor running?

  12. #62
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    85
    My pleasure. I really like Teensy so I am glad to help.

  13. #63
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulStoffregen View Post
    Thanks for testing. MacOS can be a challenge sometimes, really helps to get test results like this.

    @bicycleguy - if the missing input lines problem returns, please open Terminal and type "ps aux | grep teensy". Is more than 1 instance of teensy_serialmon or teensy-monitor running?
    The output from sketch in #58 pretty much always starts with 2 when using Teensy Ports.

    ps aux | grep teensy output:
    Code:
    ~     4964   0.3  1.1 35674492  90628   ??  S    10:13AM   0:01.06 /Applications/Teensyduino1-8-19t1-57.app/Contents/Java/hardware/teensy/../tools/teensy.app/Contents/MacOS/teensy
    ~     4993   0.0  0.0 408636096   1456 s000  S+   10:14AM   0:00.01 grep teensy
    ~     4991   0.0  0.0 34430552   4044   ??  S    10:14AM   0:00.02 /Applications/Teensyduino1-8-19t1-57.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/teensy_serialmon usb:100000
    ~     4605   0.0  0.1 34458052   4196   ??  S    10:12AM   0:00.04 /Applications/Teensyduino1-8-19t1-57.app/Contents/Java/hardware/teensy/../tools/teensy_ports -J2
    note renamed app in finder to include versions: Teensyduino1-8-19t1-57

    The output is usually correct when when using Serial ports. The ps:
    Code:
    ~     5024   0.9  0.0 408636096   1456 s000  S+   10:35AM   0:00.00 grep teensy
    ~     4964   0.1  1.2 35675580  97484   ??  S    10:13AM   0:06.11 /Applications/Teensyduino1-8-19t1-57.app/Contents/Java/hardware/teensy/../tools/teensy.app/Contents/MacOS/teensy
    ~     4605   0.0  0.1 34466244   4236   ??  S    10:12AM   0:00.07 /Applications/Teensyduino1-8-19t1-57.app/Contents/Java/hardware/teensy/../tools/teensy_ports -J2
    Interestingly sometimes when using the Arduino Serial ports the 2 missing lines show and then the window clears and starts at 2 like with Teensy Ports.

  14. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    184
    I have IDE 1.8.19 and 2.02 installed at the same time. "Teensy 4 Security" appears on the tool tab for the 1.8.19 but not 2.02. It his and issue?

    Thanks

    Bruce

  15. #65
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    11,415
    Quote Originally Posted by bvernham View Post
    I have IDE 1.8.19 and 2.02 installed at the same time. "Teensy 4 Security" appears on the tool tab for the 1.8.19 but not 2.02. It his and issue?

    Thanks

    Bruce
    Yes this is a known issue. The IDE2 does not yet have the hooks to allow Paul to add it.
    There are existing Arduino IDE2 issues, like:
    https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/1242
    https://github.com/arduino/arduino-ide/issues/58

    Probably others as well

  16. #66
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    184
    Thanks for the heads up.

    I guess I will stick with 1.8.19 right now.

  17. #67
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    11,415
    Quote Originally Posted by bvernham View Post
    Thanks for the heads up.

    I guess I will stick with 1.8.19 right now.
    Personally, I prefer using IDE2.... For those rare cases where you need to setup some of the T4.x security stuff, you can always startup the 1.8.19... But for most other things I prefer IDE2.
    (Other than Serial monitor) But for any serial stuff, I typically use TyCommander for that anyway in either case.

  18. #68
    Just updated to 1.57 and get this error with a Teensy LC:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\ADC\An alogBufferDMA.cpp: In member function 'void AnalogBufferDMA::init(ADC*, int8_t)':
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\teensy\avr\libraries\ADC\An alogBufferDMA.cpp:175:26: error: call to 'ADC::enableDMA' declared with attribute error: Use adc->adcX->enableDMA instead
    adc->enableDMA(adc_num);
    ^
    Error compiling for board Teensy LC.
    The program couldn't be simpler:
    Code:
    #include <ADC.h>
    void setup() {
      // put your setup code here, to run once:
    }
    
    void loop() {
      // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
    }
    Changing the offending line to
    Code:
      adc->adc[adc_num]->enableDMA();
    compiles without errors.

    Don't know if the DMA works and I'm not planning to use it.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris

  19. #69
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    11,415
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisRowland View Post
    Just updated to 1.57 and get this error with a Teensy LC:


    The program couldn't be simpler:
    Code:
    #include <ADC.h>
    void setup() {
      // put your setup code here, to run once:
    }
    
    void loop() {
      // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
    }
    Changing the offending line to
    Code:
      adc->adc[adc_num]->enableDMA();
    compiles without errors.

    Don't know if the DMA works and I'm not planning to use it.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris
    That was fixed in the ADC library after the release of 1.57:
    https://github.com/pedvide/ADC/pull/81
    The fix was merged in on November 11th

  20. #70
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    145
    KurtE, where can i get the windows executable for Tycommander? I can't find one on the git page?

  21. #71
    Senior Member+ KurtE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    11,415
    On the right hand side of the github page, is an area that says there has been 41 releases and you can click on the latest, which brings you to the page:
    https://github.com/Koromix/tytools/releases

  22. #72
    Thanks Kurt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •