Teensy 4.1 custom board troubles.

sandvoxel

I am currently working on a custom board for the teensy 4.1, but have been having issues getting the main chip to start correctly. The issue I am having is the oscillator for 24 MHz is not being driven by the chip just getting a flat 400 mV on the pads for the oscillator and the 4 blinks from the bootloader that jtag is not responding. The startup sequence seems to be correct as I am getting PMIC_ON_REQ and that is enabling my 3.3V regulator. I am also getting my 1.5~ V out of the cpu on VDD_SOC_IN. I ask that you forgive if I have left off some relevant information but I am quite new to the whole forum thing.

Here is the schematic for the board.
Schematic_Flight Controller_2022-09-15.jpg

Hello I have swapped out the caps for some that are known to be 12pF and here is scope view of one of the pads of the oscillator.

Scope.jpg

I guess I might have just busted the chip because I cant see why it would not be trying to bump (Not sure the right term) the oscillator. I'm not sure when I would have done that thought because I did not use hot air I used a reflow oven but who knows.

I take back what I said about the chip being broken It seems to be an error with not taking high freq into account when designing my pcb. I believe I have just placed my 24MHz way to far away from the chip it is only a centimeter or so but If I had to guess the trace capacitance is interfering with the oscillator. I can see it trying to start the oscillator but it dies off quickly can kind of falls on its face.

My troublesome circuit.
MyOscillator.jpg

Proper Teensy Oscillator (The voltage scale us also different the signal is much stronger)
TeensyOscillator.jpg

If there is any way to save this circuit I would love to know but if I it is beyond salvaging then so be it.

Here is a snip it of the PCB layout to showcase oscillators distance from cpu.
PCBOscillator.png

1 cm distance is probably ok.