Audio/TFT/Touchscreen/ILI9341 Pin Choices

sleitman

I posted a specific help question yesterday.

But it brought up a broader range of questions that I have had using the audio shield and a touchscreen.

To be clear - I have had success with a specific set of pin connections and the Teensy 4.0. I have read the PJRC ILI9341 documentation and the audio documentation many times. I am still confused and have some clarification questions. I am using these tools for all sorts of projects and as someone who is largely self-taught on these matters, sometimes there are holes in my knowledge that I want to fix but don't know what I am missing. I think that in this case, it has to do with the requirements for SPI communication on different chips. I have read SPI tutorials and use SPI frequently for microcontroller projects but am still confused about the pin choices when dealing with the touch, screen and audio communications and Teensy.

1) On the touchscreen page, 2 options are given for pin connections: "Teensy 3.x
and 4.x Standard" and "Teensy 3.x Audio Board". What is the pin connection list for a Teensy 4.x and an Audio board? Is it the same as the Teensy 3.x
and 4.x Standard"?

2) The table on the PJRC ILI9341 page, says that on a Teensy 4.x, the D/C and Screen CS pins could be connected to Teensy pins 9, 10, 15, 20, or 21, but only all of those pins are used by the audio shield except for pin 9. So, what other pins should be used? On a previous PCB with a 4.0, I used pin 3

3) What types of pins do the ILI9341 DC and CS pins need to be connected to? Are the types different for the touch and the screen CS pins? Touch CS pin on the PJRC ILI9341 page says that it can be connected to anything but the screen CS pin gives specific pin options (9, 10, 15, 20, or 21).