Number of LEDs per OctoWS2811 output

theovn

Hello everybody. I am a programmer that have dabbled a very little bit with microcontrollers and new to the Teensy world.

I'm planning a small/medium sized LED project: a grid made up of LED strings (not strips) consisting of about 2000 LEDs. The LEDs will be controlled programatically (code running on the Teensy) and not from an external source. The size of the grid to be ±5x4 meters (±16x12 feet) with pixels every 10cm (4inches) (50x40 LEDs).

I am planning to use a Teensy 4.1 with the OctoWS2811 Adaptor, and to get 4x 5V-WS2811 strings of 500 LEDs (they have additional power inputs every 100 LEDs). I would have preferred 12V strings but I understand that the strings may require a 12V data signal making them incompatible with the OctoWS2811 Adaptor?

I assume one would attach each of these strings to a separate output channel on the OctoWS2811 Adaptor, i.e. 500 LEDs per output channel? I understand that the OctoWS2811 library will hookup the 4 channels and make it available as continuous addressable space.

I am wondering, though, what factors determine the maximum number of LEDs per output channel as well as over all 8 channels – hard cap on the number of LEDs, the length of the string cable (in my case ±50m/164feet, or something else – without having to use additional components?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

The 12V LEDs usually have 5V control signals. I’ve used them with an OctoWS2811 myself. As for max. LED limits, the main restriction, really, is the frame rate. Because each pixel takes a fixed amount of time to refresh, the more pixels you have, the slower the total refresh time.

The other restriction is memory. The OctoWS2811 driver (see the examples here), for RGB pixels, needs two int[] buffers having a size of LEDsPerPin*6. That’s 2*4*LEDsPerPin*6 bytes.

Hope that helps a little.

Thank you very much. That makes sense.