Porting from Teensy 3.2 to 4.0?

Hi folks,

With the ongoing supply issues regarding the 3.2, I'm now looking to transition a project to the 4.0. But I am not the original manufacturer of the hardware or firmware I'm using for this so I'm not super familiar with the intricacies of it (though I do have a decent understanding of it). I'm also very new to Teensys as a whole so please forgive me if these are stupid questions!

The manufacturer was at one point considering porting to the 4.0 but ultimately went a different direction with hardware, choosing to move away from the Teensy entirely. I want to pick up where he left off and port the current hardware and firmware to be compatible with the 4.0.

One thing he said to me is that some functionality would be lost due to the 4.0 having less extra serial ports than the 3.2, but from what I can find on the PJRC site the 4.0 has more serial ports than the 3.2!

Say I were to just mount a Teensy 4.0 in the place of a 3.2 in my project, both flashed with the same firmware. What wouldn't work? What would I maybe need to change? Just trying to get a sense of how much of a project this will be!

TIA!
Reider

Edit: here's the GitHub repo, if it helps: https://github.com/Tom-evnut/TeslaBMSV2

Some time ago, I wrote up the following in the unofficial Teensy wiki about the commonality of Teensys:

I have a google spreadsheet that tries to go over in detail all of the pin usages between the different processors:

In particular, going from the Teensy 3.2 to 4.0:
  • The Teensy 4.0 does not support 5v inputs on digital pins;
  • The underneath solder pad layout is completely different;
  • The Teensy 4.0 does not have the inner pins A10, A11, and AREF.
  • The Teensy 4.0 does not have a DAC (digital to analog) converter (i.e. pin A14). The pin in the A14 position on the Teensy 4.0 is an on/off pin (connect the pin to ground for a few seconds and it turns off the Teensy until you connect it to ground again).