Teensy 4.0 WS2812 slow.

Hi.

I've had a search on here but couldn't find the answer to my question.

This is my first time using a Teensy and I only know enough about coding to be dangerous so apologies if I am making some stupid mistake.

I am working on a project that needs lights and sound, after some research I decided to try a Teensy 4.0 with the Rev D audio board and some Neopixels.

I'm just at the stage of connecting bits together on a breadboard and getting some basic code running.

I am using a 74ahct125 between the Teensy and the pixels.

I downloaded the WS2812Serial - Non-Blocking WS2812B / NeoPixel LEDs Library and loaded and started playing with the examples.

After a bit of time i realised that the 7 pixels i had running seems to be updating slower than I remembered when using them with a Arduino.

I wrote some code that lights all the pixels at full red then dims it, from 255 - 0, without adding any delays.

The results were that my Arduino Nano is able to light and dim the 7 pixels around 8 times a second whereas the simular code running on the Teensy can only do the same around twice a second.

If there were and differences I would have expected the Teensy to be faster that the Nano rather than the other way round.

Is this some limitation on the non-blocking library or do I have a problem somewhere?

Program running on the Teensy.
Code:
#include "Arduino.h"
#include <WS2812Serial.h>

const int numled = 7;
const int pin = 1;

byte drawingMemory[numled*3];         //  3 bytes per LED
DMAMEM byte displayMemory[numled*12]; // 12 bytes per LED

WS2812Serial leds(numled, displayMemory, drawingMemory, pin, WS2812_GRB);

void setup() {
  leds.begin();
}

void test(int hue) {
  for(int i=0;i<leds.numPixels();i++){
    leds.setPixel(i, hue,0,0);
  }
  leds.show();
}

void loop() {
  for(int i=255;i>=0;i--){
    test(i);
  }
}

Program running on the Nano.
Code:
#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#define PIN            3