[queued] Engine Monitor - Teensy 4.1 & 3.6

AndyMeyer

I'm a pilot of an Experimental aircraft and needed a good engine monitor - around 6 or 7 years ago I started with an Arduino and a 2.8" display and a 8 channel thermocouple board... Struggled along, slow screen updates, integer math, etc... Then I found paradise when I ran across the Teensy and Paul's (and all of the contributors) INCREDIBLE work here.

Current version has a Teensy 3.6 mounted near the engine with 23 inputs: 8 K type thermocouple, analog pressures and temperatures (Oil Temp, pressure, manifold pressure, engine timing and RPM, etc... and some spares, along with a spare RS232 input. This board communicates via RS232 to the display module.

The display module has a 3.5" cap touch screen, 8 more inputs (2nd RPM, Fuel flow, airspeed and altitude, temperature, volt and ammeter...) 6 outputs (warning lights, dimmer and spare) and 3 RS232 channels to share information with my GPS for fuel estimation at the destination, etc... It also records data to a uSD card, stores a variety of settings in flash, and monitors for any out of limits conditions.

Boards were designed in Upverter and procured through OshPark, housings designed in OnShape and printed on my Prusa Mk3. I did add a Teensy 3.6 and a 4.1 model in Upverter so that is now available if anyone needs it.

I have an engineering degree, but never did board design or EE design until this project, and it flies! Anyone who questions what they can do - give it a try - you'll learn a ton along the way, have a lot of fun, experience frustration when things don't go right (or you swap an Rx and a Tx line - which the engineers I work with on NASA programs do routinely as well), and get to make cool things work! If you're interested in checking out the Upverter designs, drop me a note and I'll get you access. I'm open to suggestions in making the designs better as well.

PXL_20230306_224958750.jpg
View attachment 30648
PXL_20230319_144703017.jpg

Attachments