Recent content by Russ

1. R

The Hula Hoop From Hell

Hello. There has been some progress, nowhere near enough. I have had to take the hoop apart multiple times to address dead LEDs. I have been doing some work on the programming trying to get everything to work together. That is going slowly because there is a lot of learning going on during...
  2. R

Soldering LED strips back together

Thank you for the replies. I am still a novice at soldering. I have been practicing and have invested some in better equipment then I started with.
  3. R

Hello, Yes, it has solder pads on both sides and I have tried what you suggest with the exception that I did not go super hot on the soldering iron. I went at the max of my iron (25-50w adjustable). I am not sure how hot that is but I think it is in the 500-600 range. I have a soldering gun...
  4. R

Hey. I tried some very light stranded wire and then some light solid wire and then some heavier (20g) solid wire. All were bitchy to pull off. The 20g solid wire worked the best for a while. Thanks Russ
  5. R

Hello again all. I was wondering if anyone has any tips on good techniques to use when soldering LED strips together. I am working with a strip of LPD 8806s that is about 3 meters long. I have had to, because of various reason, repair the strip several times. I have tried various different...
  6. R

The battle between Teensy 3 vs MBED Freescale Freedom - who will win?

Okey doke. I was only saying that when you want to do something tiny the Teensy wins :) In my case I needed a choice that at 3/4 inch or smaller that could be embedded in the project.
  7. R

The battle between Teensy 3 vs MBED Freescale Freedom - who will win?

Looks like the Freescale one is BIG. So, Teensy wins for anything that needs tiny. Freescale 52.5 by 80mm. Teensy-3 19mm by 35mm.
  8. R

confused again. Cutting VIN from VUSB - Teensy 3.0