Some new audio objects (STK Instruments / Effects, Bytebeat, Slew Limiter, etc)

mattkuebrich

For the past few months, I've been working on some new Teensy audio objects and posting them on GitHub. It's been a bit of an exercise to learn C++ and a way to fill in some missing functions that I've needed when building my DIY synths. I'm excited to share them, although I should say I'm not a great coder. I'd love to hear if anyone finds these useful or has any questions, issues, or ways to make them better.

Many of these were adapted from other systems and projects, and I've tried to give credit and licenses if needed. I've written documentation that follows the same format as the existing objects in the Design Tool and provided example sketches for each object.

The last one I finished is a wrapper for the 29 polyphonic, physically modeled and FM instruments and 8 effects from The Synthesis ToolKit in C++ (STK). Another fun one is the Bytebeat object. It has an example sketch that ports all of the equations from the Equation Composer Eurorack module.

Here's all 16 objects I've completed so far:
Bernoulli Gate
Bytebeat
Chaos Noise
Comparator
DC Block
Dust
FM Drum
Function Shaper
Gate to Trigger
Readout
Quantizer
Sample and Hold
Shift Register / Rungler
Slew Limiter
STK Instrmnt / STK Effect

My GitHub page for all of these:
https://github.com/MattKuebrich/teensy-audio-objects

Last edited:
This looks like a very interesting suite of objects - it’d be nice to think that at some point there would be a Teensyduino update that curates these and the many other contributions into a major overhaul of the Audio library!

I’ve not had a chance to audition any of them, but did take a quick glance at some of the code, resulting in a few (by no means thorough) comments: