Teensy 4.0 DC Motor Noise

weth

Hello!

I am still quite new to electronics and I am building a motor controller for a DC blower. I am running into some issues with regard to motor noise. The controller is used to control a continuous on/off pulse of the motor at different speeds and timings. The circuit is powered by a 24V portable battery which powers a motor driver connected to the DC blower. The battery is also hooked up to a 24V to 5V buck converter which powers the Teensy. The teensy is hooked up to an I2C LCD display and rotary encoder to navigate a menu system. I have attached a simple circuit illustration to this post.

The Problem:

The menu system and rotary encoder work perfectly when the motor is not attached. When the motor driver is connected and the motor is not running, the menu system still works as expected. However, once the motor begins to run as part of a loop, artifacts are displayed on the LCD, and the Teensy eventually becomes unresponsive. At times, the motor will still behave based on the previous setting; however, there are cases where it seems like the Teensy completely shuts down and the motor runs at its default speed.

Troubleshooting Attempts:

In my attempts to troubleshoot this system, I have tried separating the power supplies for the motor driver and the Teensy - where the Teensy is powered by a USB and the motor driver is powered by the 24V supply, and the two components are only connected via the PWM control pin. In this configuration, the system is more reliable than if the Teensy was connected to the shared power supply. However, the artifacts eventually show up at higher speeds and it eventually fails.