Guitar Distortion pedal with Teensy audio

Yogi Pritch

Hi all,

Back in the summer I embarked on a journey to try to create a guitar pedal with a microcontroller based on my electrical engineer buddy stating how easy it would be to do. It sounded like a great way to be creative and also to save lots of money by making my own effects rather than buying a bunch of stomp boxes. However, I am not an electrical engineer so it's been less than the easy journey my friend suggested it would be.

After messing with some Arduino stuff I found Teensy and the audio shield and library and thought this was an amazing discovery that would make things fall into place, but the main effect any guitarist is interested in has strangely not been easy for me to create in the audio library; distortion.

I've tried the waveshaper effect to no avail, from attempting to feed in a simple array similar to this post, to something much more complex like what's in this other post. I also tried the example here which provided a continuous screeching sound that's nothing like the example sounds they share and just made my ears bleed.

Most recently I came across this post where the author covers creating diode clipping via some fairly approachable formulas, but the Arduino library he uses (Advanced Analog) is only available for specific Arduino models which I do not own. So I thought I would try and implement these formulas into the Teensy system, but it seems that in order to do that I need to create my own effect in order to access the audio blocks. So I started down that path and have had no success.

As I mentioned I am not an electrical engineer, and not a math genius. Also not a programmer, but I know enough scripting from being an analyst to get myself in trouble. I think I'm on the cusp of getting the diode clipping in the last post to work, but there's a few parts of the formula that are tripping me up which is where I'm hoping some kind soul here could help.