Unable to open Serial Monitor in Arduino IDE

jparmenter

Hello everyone,

Let me start by saying I am fairly new to using the Teensy 4.1, and so I am getting started with some basic Serial communication projects. I am currently attempting to do a basic IO demo between a Python script and the Teensy via USB Serial COM on Windows.

The issue I am having is that I am unable to open the Serial Monitor in the Arduino IDE, or if I am able to I don't receive any of the data transmitted by the T41. The basic example below is all I have uploaded to the board right now.

Code:
void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("Teensy Initializing...");
}

void loop() {
  Serial.println('a');
}

Yet when I attempt to open the Serial Monitor or Serial Plotter I get the error "Error opening serial port 'usb:20001/0/0/5'. (Port busy)". I have found some others having this issue who were able to resolve it by restarting the PC, changing COM or USB ports, changing the port in Tools > Ports, but none of this has worked for me.

In addition, when I run this Python script, I am able to view the Serial output as though I was using the Monitor in Arduino.

Code:
import serial
import time

ser = serial.Serial('COM3', 115200)
time.sleep(2)

while True:
    dataIn = ser.readline().decode()
    print(dataIn)

I don't think that the Python script having been run is the issue, although I may need to use ser.close() after this executes. For now, I don't really need to use the monitor in Arduino if I can continue to use Python, but I feel like this is a sign of some other issue I will need to address.

Update: I was able to find a workaround for this issue. I believe the reason that Serial Ports: COM3 was not outputting was a baud rate mismatch, and after changing the baud rate in the device manager I am now able to see the serial output in Arduino. However, if Teensy Ports: COM3 is selected this error still persists.

Last edited: